Review: Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

Rating: 41/2 early morning stars

2016 Ranking: In my top ten reads this year 100%

Favourite Quote: “Nobody calls me ‘blondie’ and keeps their kneecaps” – Emma Carstairs (GARL YOU SLAY)

Good Reads Description: Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where faeries teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them. Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?


Firstly before I say anything else – JULIAN FREAKING BLACKTHORN PEOPLE WHERE DID THIS LILLE CUTIE COME FROM *GOOEY EYE CENTRAL RIGHT NOW* ??!! phew sorry had to get that one out of my system my fellow book dragons…

Anywho, back to the review! When I started this book, I’m not going to lie I was very very nervous. TMI and TID where okay and I enjoyed them but looking back on those series I just remember being cringed out and a bit bored with some of the characters. But let me tell you this was one wild (ONE READ DAY) from the begging. I LOVED LOVED the Blackthorn family and Emma and they connected to me more than Clary and Jace or Tessa, Will and Jem!

Thoughts on the plot: I think out of my entire thoughts on the book, the plot is rated the highest, it was well paced with just enough detail that made the story flow really well. It was also the kind of plot that made you concentrate on the characters as well which I love – like you knew what the main plot line was but Clare crafted this novel so well that it felt you were with the gang on their mission rather than just reading about (DOES THAT MAKE ANY SENSE OMG) and by the end of it all those mini little plot line were sewed into the main plot line making this book for me pretty freaking awesome and starving for some more

Thoughts on the characters: Only three words I need for them: I LOVED THEM. They were actually pretty great characters and I don’t know why but I connected to them on a more personal level. I think one of the main reasons why was the fact it was a family with ranging ages and although they were young for some reason I didn’t see them doing all this stuff unrealistic unlike with the NY gang. I also loved one of the plot twist with the characters, I actually didn’t see it coming and was very shocked when it happened. OKAY PREWARNING THE NEXT PART CONTAINS MILD SPOILERS SO SKIP TO THE NEXT PARA. – The best thing I loved about Jules was that he was the inexperienced one when it came to relationships – not the other way round and I don’t know why but for me that just made this relationship 1000x better (but thanks to the ending my little heart was torn to shreds and I just want my baby to be strong) ALSO OKAY WHEN THE MENTIONED SIMON WAS A SHADOW H UNTER I COMPLETELY FLIPPED MY SHET when did this happen?!?!? also im crying his band name is goals. oh and also MARK (no words are needed am I right)! OH AND KIT I’m liking whatever Clare has in store for this guy because he sure is one hell of a mystery….

Who I would recommend this to: BASICALLY ANYONE WHO LOVES FANTASY OR ROMANCE

Alrighty I’m going to wrap this review up now or else you will experience a brambly rambly so stay tuned book dragons for some new content soon AND IF YOU HAVENT READ THIS BOOK READ IT AND THEN I WILL HELP YOU FIND YOUR TORN OUT HEART.

xx Soph

PS: I do realise its two o’clock in the afternoon but it was early morning when I started to write this out so please don’t hate!!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: Lady Midnight

  1. Lady Midnight was so amazing. Emma is such a badass and Jules is just so matured! When I learnt that Simon and Clary became parabatai, I did a small happy dance. And the scene in Clave made me so happy. Clary and Jace are still together and Simon and Isabelle are engaged! Magnus and Alec have adopted a warlock kid. Wow! Wow! All the characters were so well placed. But the end left me shattered. EMMA IS GOING TO USE MARK TO BREAK JULIAN’S HEART. DAMNIT! Cassandra, I need the 2nd book right now. I just hope all my babies stay alive and Emma and Jules get together and Clave accepts them. “Lex Malla Lex Nulla”

    Like

Leave a Reply

